Home About News Events Membership Contact Site Map

News and Photo Archive, including:
Past Distinguished Chief's & Past Distinguished Service Awards Recipients 

Past Distinguished Chief's Award Recipients
  • (2002)   Chief Matt Canelli, North Branford
  • (2002)   Chief Paul Fitzgerald, Berlin
  • (2002)   Chief Robert Gagne, Orange
  • (2003)   Chief Robert T. Nolan, Hamden
  • (2003)   Chief Joseph M. Sambrook, Fairfiled
  • (2003)   Chief James M. Thomas, Glastonbury
  • (2004)   Chief Russel Kniel, West Haven
  • (2004)   Chief Harry W. Rilling, Norwalk
  • (2004)   Chief Leonard L. Gallow, East Haven
  • (2005)   Chief Joseph P. Faughan, Clinton
  • (2005)   Chief Tomas H. Kiely, Trumbull
  • (2005)   Chief Francisco Ortiz, Jr., New Haven
  • (2006)   Chief Paul D. Jakubson, Madison
  • (2006)   Chief Joseph M. Dooley, Orange
  • (2006)   Chief Colin McCormick, New Milford
  • (2007)   Chief David P. Erskine, Stonington
  • (2007)   Chief James X. DiCarlo, North Haven
  • (2007)   Chief Robert W. Gill, Branford
  • (2008)   Chief Neil O'Leary, Waterbury
  • (2008)   Chief Ronald Quagliani, West Haven
  • (2008)   Chief Daryl Roberts, Hartford
  • (2009)   Chief William Gagliardi, New Britain
  • (2009)   Chief Brent B. Larrabee, Stamford
  • (2009)   Chief Keith L. Mello, Milford
  • (2010)   Chief Paul Fitzgerald, Berlin
  • (2010)   Chief Matthew Canelli, North Branford
  • (2010)   Chief Robert J. Gagne, Orange
  • (2011)   Chief Richard Guisti Sr., Middlebury                   
  • (2011)   Chief Gary MacNamara, Fairfield                       
  • (2011)   Chief Murray J. (Bud) Pendleton, Waterford        
  • (2012)   Chief Christopher Edson of Naugatuck              
  • (2012)   Chief Robert Nivakoff of Stamford                     
  • (2012)   Chief Darren Stewart of Stonington 
  • (2013)   Chief John Gavallas of Watertown
  • (2013)   Chief Thomas McLoughlin of North Haven
  • (2013)   Chief John “Jack” Drumm of Madison  
  • (2014) Chief Kevin Hale, Ansonia   
  • (2014) Chief Michael Kehoe, Newtown
  • (2014) Chief Thomas Kulhawik, Norwalk
  • (2015) Chief Brent Larrabee, East Haven
  • (2015) Chief Jonathan Fontneau, Stamford
  • (2015) Chief Edward Stephens, Wolcot  
  • (2016) Chief Vernon Riddick, Waterbury
  • (2016) Chief Ronnell Higgins, Yale University PD
  • (2016) Colonel Brian Meraviglia, Connecticut State Police (Ret.)
  • (2016) Lieutenant Colonel Butch Hyatt, Connecticut State Police (Ret.) 


Past Distinguished Service Award Recipients
  • Col. Edward Lynch, Connecticut State Police, Department of Public Safety
  • Arnold Markle, States Attorney, Judicial District of New Haven
  • Biagio Dilieto, Mayor, City of New Haven
  • Cleveland Fussenich, Commissioner, Connecticut State Police
  • Frank Virgulak, Chief, Norwalk Police Department
  • Richard X. Carlo, Chief, Bethel Police Department
  • Henry F. Healey, Jr., High Sheriff, New Haven County
  • Anthony J. Mastronardi, Chief, Fairfield Police Department
  • Joseph Walsh, Chief, Bridgeport Police Department
  • Clifford J. Willis, Chief, New Britain Police Department
  • William F. Farrell, Chief, New Haven Police Department
  • John P. Abrogio, Chief, Hamden Police Department
  • Joseph Lieberman, Connecticut Attorney General
  • Richard Blumenthal, Senator, 27th Connecticut District
  • Thomas J. Rotunda, Jr., Chief, Ridgefield Police Department
  • Edwin S. Mark, High Sheriff, Fairfield County
  • Dr. Henry C. Lee, Director, Connecticut Forensic Science Laboratory
  • John M. Bailey, Chief State’s Attorney
  • Bernard Kerick, New York City Police Commissioner

Photo Archive

August 26, 2009
Annual Picnic & Clambake

June 17, 2009
Police Commissioners Association Meeting

June 2, 2009
Tip-a-Cop Fundraiser

May, 28, 2009
Distinguished Chief Awards

Wednesday, March 25, 2009
Distinguished Public Safety Awards

February, 2009
Save the Parade Fundraiser

August 27, 2008
Annual Clam Bake

June 18, 2008
Police Commissioners Annual Meeting

May 21, 2008
Distinguished Police Chiefs Award

April 30, 2008
Police Commissionser Association Meeting

March 26, 2008
Police Commissioners Public Safety Awards Dinner

Contributed Photo from back in the 1980's by Past PCAC president, Gary Singer (Weston).

PCAC Mission

The Police Commissioners Association of Connecticut (PCAC) members are elected and appointed police commissioners from municipalities throughout Connecticut. Our mission is to provide a link between professional law enforcement officers and the public.

We are dedicated to educating our members on current law enforcement issues facing our police departments. We strive to:
  1. Elevate the status of local police departments through the exchange of ideas, information and experience.
  2. Foster public understanding and appreciation of the role of police officers in today's society.
  3. Support legislation favorable to justice and safety.
  4. Improve the training of police officers.
  5. Give appropriate recognition for outstanding performance in the field of law enforcement.